The streak is over

Big day today!  BIG!

After my delightfully lazy streak of non-running (11 days sans Garmin, ipod or ‘cats) I’m back!  I managed to drag my ever-lovin-expanding body out of bed this morning to waddle my way through 7.5km of pure magic.

No snow.  No ice.  No problem.  A January miracle!  Kind of.  It turns out that not only is eleven days of non-running not awesome for your fitness level, it’s also not awesome for your motivation level.

After my big finish a few weeks ago, the plan was to take a few days off from running.  A. few. days.   But because I am “goal oriented” (read: lazy unless I’ve forked over at least $60 for a race or have publicly committed myself to some retardo goal) that plan quickly morphed into sleeping in everyday, not working out at all, and generally being the antithesis of new year’s resolutions.  Most people buck up on January 1st, whereas I was busying myself with ways to incorporate melted cheese into every meal. (PS – totally doable)  But with a snow storm about to land on our doorsteps tonight, I decided that the streak would end today.

And it wasn’t that bad.  It was actually kind of nice.  No pressure, no desperate distance, no pace required.  I just ran until I didn’t feel like running anymore.  I ran like a regular person (or Forrest Gump if you will), rather than some kind of kilometer junkie trying to get her fix.  So last year.

BUT!  Was it wonderful enough to convince me to tackle 2012km in 2012?  Nope.  Not even close.  So you see that little ticker on the upper right-hand side of the page…ignore it.  I just can’t think of what I want to put there yet.  It’ll likely be a picture of myself or something as equally awesome.

Enough said.

So what are my goals for 2012?  (Because just relying on my own discipline and motivation are clearly not going to cut it.)  Without further ado…

Seriously...that's it.

Yep.  Setting the bar at “realistic” for this year.  I’ve had a few of these on my to-do list for awhile (*cough* wedding vows *cough*) so what better way to follow through than to publicly announce them?!

As for running and fitness goals?  Welp, I’m just not ready to commit to anything for a year yet, so in the meantime…here we go:

January-February goals (a bite size time frame, if you will) are to run at least x2/week and do Body Pump/weights twice a week.  I figure that’s enough to get me out of bed at least. Also, I’m back to teaching endurance spin each week (yay! I’ve missed you bikey!), so I figure now is the best time to mix up my workouts before I get the racing bug this spring.

That’s how early 2012 is shaping up for me.  What about you?  What’s your plan?  What are you hoping to accomplish this year (besides teaching me how to drive standard)?

Stay tuned for a non-running December/holiday re-cap!  What’s the big news, and more selfishly, what did I get for Christmas!?!  Anticipation!

Posted on January 11, 2012, in 2012 goals, Cross-training, Motivation madness. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Nat, may I suggest having a girl teach you standard. They will tell you WHAT you are doing wrong, not just you are doing it wrong! And knitting is totally easier… IMO

  2. I love your goals! I can knit dishcloths, and I taught myself to crochet (from a tiny little beginners book!). I think that once you get the handle on crocheting, it’s fun, and definitely does not take as much time as knitting! I would try that first! I still find youtube videos all the time to help me 🙂

    I just found your blog a little bit ago! Loving it so far 🙂 Great to find another Canadian blogger!

    • So it’s knit vs. crochet – I’ll see how each pan out for me and let you know! Chances are I’ll struggle with both equally…because I know my abilities (or lack of).

      I’ll head over and see what’s up in your neck of the Canadian woods!

  3. Funny to read that you took time off from early morning runs in order to sleep…and consume melted cheese, which, come on, how great is that!
    As per my trainer, I need to start my days off with a run. I don’t do 6am, so not sure how this will pan out. I think I better hunt through your posts to read some where you are uber enthusiastic to be out before the birds (PS: I live in Winnipeg, Mb, it’s currently -29, so yeah, little scared of 6am…)

    • Oh, I wouldn’t take too much time looking for any enthusiasm on this blog…a fruitless effort, I’m afraid. I basically became an early exerciser because I was paid to. I was new on the cycling teacher roster and got the short straw – 6am classes. That said, it’s amazing what 7 years will train your body to do. Winters are still rough though…hang in there…spring will feel so much springier if you stick with it!

  1. Pingback: Pinterest is the new running |

  2. Pingback: Catching up |

  3. Pingback: Wha Happa? «

Leave a Reply

