Crunch

Whether it’s crunching numbers or crunch time or crunch me up a vicodin-codeine-baby tylenol-flintstonevitamin cocktail…my world is all about crunch right now.

So December has arrived…despite my zealous attempts at “willing” it not to.  I’m T-31* days until the big eagle lands.  For you non-marine types, that means that I’ve got a mere 30 more days to haul this hiney through a *few* more kilometres.  (*update, I’ve had this in “draft” for awhile and am now at 28 days.  Yes!  Equally as lazy in writing and running.)

Let’s see how the past 11 months have gone…and if my past performance will be an indicator of the next month.  Fingers crossed that it’s not.

Off to a swimming start...so bright eyed and bushy-tailed. So naive.

So basically, you can ignore most of the above image.  What we’re interested in is the monthly “Total kilometers”.  That’s it.  Mostly because after January, I quit recording other activities and times.  I quickly realized that I don’t care about anything other than building mileage.

Pushing through the winter horror

I think the realization of how awful this idea was started to set in about mid-February.

Back on the gravy train!

Clearly my priorities are back in order!  Actually this is pre-Jamaica so it was a last ditch effort to literally run my ass off.

Ugh.

Clearly, Jamaica + rum + running does not exist in my world.

Back to dry sidewalks!

Hooray – spring has sprung!  However, I would still love to go back to my “May self” and say, “Self, it’s a beautiful, warm spring day.  Get your whiny ass out of bed so that your “December self” doesn’t want to cut you in the face.  Mmmkay?”

Another "race" month

Having a race month is pretty much just giving myself permission to lie around and “taper” and then lie around some more while “recuperating”.  Genius at the time.  Now?  Not so much.

Steady....steady....steeeeeady.

Not too shabby…considering all of the camping, birthday binge drinking and whatnot.  If I recall, I had high hopes of hitting the halfway point at around, say, half of the way.  I’m pretty sure we all know how that turned out…

Panic starts to set in

After a disappointing first half/missed the mark, I clearly started to panic around August.  Turns out that fear is an excellent motivator for me!  Made it halfway!

Running and cowboys

Obviously I’m not one of those (irritating) people who can run and vacation at the same time.  Nope.  Those two activities and this gal just don’t mix.  I prefer my vacations straight up…all booze and sugar, with little to no movement unless you count dancing on stools.

Kickin' asphalt...finally.

Things are getting serious up in here.  October was all about desperately trying to catch the last of 2011’s decent weather and getting ready for Hamilton.  Even getting skunked didn’t slow this all-star down too much.  Actually it did, but whatevs.

Home stretch-ish

Which brings us to the end of November.  Magically, snow and other miscellaneous devil weather has managed to find some other province to torment – so I guess all of my chanting and bribing really paid off.

*Update – this week actually ended up at 78.05km.  I was just way too super lazy to get another screen shot.  Sorry…but not really.

So as the days fly by I’ll be sure to keep y’all posted.  Because I’m sure you are all just as fascinated by numbers and tables and calendars and calculators as I am.  Just. as. interested.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in 2011 progress. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Keep going! You can do it! ❤

  1. Pingback: Life outside of running |

Leave a Reply

