Like prison, but with more push ups

Running can be a bit time consuming.  Especially if you run like me.

With all of this running /calculating km’s for running /trying to think of reasons to get out of running, the hours are flying by at a nerve-wracking pace.  (Seriously, only 67 days until the end of the year…wtf, calendar!?)  So I’ve pretty much resigned myself to the motto “if you’ve got time lean, you’ve got time to clean”.  No wait, that was my McD’s manager’s motto.  Mine is “If you’ve got time to sweat, you’ve got time to run”.  Which really means, instead of making time for weights or other cardio, go running.  Just for the next two hellish months.  Don’t get all ‘tsk, tsk‘ on me. I know this plan won’t do me any favours in the ass or abs department and, yes, it IS a fantastic way to get injured! But until that little joggin’ logger passes 2000km, it’s all running all the time.  The only other exercise my body is seeing lately are spin classes that I’m teaching and my weekly Exercise Diaries endeavour.  Needless to say, my arms look fantastic without any weight training.

My flarms, circa Monday.

Clearly, this won’t do.  Enter: The 100 Push up Challenge!  A few weeks ago,  I opened my big fat mouth and duped encouraged five of my most gullible favourite peeps to tackle this challenge with me.  And because I am a superstar marketing guru, they agreed!  Crap.

Fast forward to present – we are into Week 3.  And it ain’t easy.  Especially because my triceps have only been used to open wine bottles and tie shoelaces for the past 2 months.  Truthfully, I would have pulled the plug around mid-Week 2, but I couldn’t.  Not because I’m not a quitter (I love quitting!), but because I’m team player…and have flarms that rival turkey wings.   So how is the rest of the crew doing?  As far as I know Eduardo and Shannaners are humming along just fine.  Jerks.  BMac and Muffin?  I’m not sure they are still on this gravy train.  But now that I’ve managed to lump them in with my sad little Cabbage Patch arms, they’ll take this opportunity to play a little catch up?  Keep us posted, fellas.

And that’s where I’m at.  Run, push up, ralph, repeat.  Like prison, but with more push ups.

I'm the one with Bambi arms and dummy legs

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Cross-training, Weekenders & peeps. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

