Procrastination pays off now.

I had really good intentions of keeping a few goals over the past couple of weeks.  Note that “had” is a key word.

So let’s hop back in time a couple of weeks and pick up where I started ignoring everything in life that didn’t have the words “Jamaica”, “sun”, “rum” or “wedding” in it.

I had a draft blog in the works (of my mind) but soon realized that no one wanted to read about my hatred for EVERYTHING that interfered with my countdown for vacay.  A blog about how I wanted to shot-put my 2lb weight at the new girl in Pump class or how I hung up the phone nano-seconds before going bat shit on some turd at work who called me about how my poster covered up his on a bulletin board does make for pleasant blog fodder.  Nor does it paint a pretty picture of me at the end of my rope.

So I made an executive decision to avoid blogging during pre-vacay rage.  You’re welcome.

I also made an executive decision to immediately start ruining my Summer 2011 Race Plan.  First up on the agenda was the Km’s for Care half-marathon on April 17 and as you can guess, I didn’t run it.  And boy am I glad I didn’t!  Between the just-barely-above freezing temps and the torrential rain that dominated the day, coupled with my ongoing rage and extreme irritability, I would have been a reeeeal treat to be around.  To be honest, I had decided about a week earlier that I wouldn’t be registering because when it boils down, I would rather spend $75 on another bikini instead of an XL race t-shirt and sample size bag of baked Doritos.  It’s just how I roll.  That said, I did run 21km on the Monday morning following the race day and logged the FREE km’s…and ate a bunch Doritos.

On the bright side, I did manage to cross off a few things that I had planned…

Dudes and I spun our little hearts out at the Battle in the Saddle spin-a-thon, despite our 3:30am demeanours.  We had big plans to sit on our bums, chat, and generally snooze with our legs moving through our shift.  Little did we know that we had signed up for CRAZYXTREMEHARDCORE fundraising.  We walked into the mall, coffee in hand, and were greeted with 10-ish teams of intense, sweaty, grunting spinners.  (NOT hot firemen waiting to flirt with and entertain us.)  All teams vying to gain the most mileage before either a) breaking their own knees or b) keeling over from heart attacks.  FUN!  It was then that Dudes said, “I didn’t want to punch you until just now”.  More FUN!  Anyhoo, we spun, we kept up and we managed to keep our team out of last place.  We think.

'Til the bitter end...complete with 4am sweaty-betty hair.

Also, Operation: Revival!  was a smashing success!  Both Dudes and I hit the milestones we were hoping for and had a bit of fun while getting there.  Next up for us is hot yoga.  Seriously.  I’m that good of a friend.  For those who know me, know that there is a reason I only run and bike.  Ever notice there is no mention of step class, Zumba, or anything else that requires moving one’s hands and feet simultaneously?  That’s intentional.  To save others and myself from awkwardly pretending that I’m not flailing around like a chubby, epileptic hunchback.  So hooray….trying to be bendy, sweaty, slippery and zen-like all at once should be awesome.

Crap...I didn't even think of that.

Posted on May 1, 2011, in Motivation madness, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

